Skip to main content

Training for food handlers

FSS training

From 1 September 2015 to be certified as an FSS for a food premise in NSW and issued a valid certificate, a person must attain required units of competency from an approved RTO under the FSS program.

The units of competency must incorporate three key focus areas determined by the Food Authority and published on its website:

  1. safe egg handling
  2. allergen management
  3. cleaning and sanitising practices.

For more information see the required units of competency below.

FSS recertification training

FSS certificates expire 5 years from the date of issue.

Food businesses that have an appointed FSS whose FSS certificate is due to expire will need to enrol their FSS in recertification training with an RTO approved under the FSS program.

Under certain circumstances, the RTO can take into account the applicant’s prior learning, while still providing training in the three key focus areas.

When an FSS holder’s certification expires, a food business has 30 days to ensure:

  1. The FSS renews their training within 30 working days
  2. Another FSS with a current qualification is appointed

Units of competency

Each appointed FSS needs to be trained in specific nationally recognised units of competency as determined by the Food Authority, as well as the Food Authority’s own key focus areas and hold an FSS certificate.

The national units of competency for FSS training are approved by the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) and are outlined below. 

 Wide table: scroll/swipe sideways if not all columns are displayed)


Food business Old units of competency code (prior to 1 Oct 2017) Previous unit of competency name Current unit of competency code Current unit of competency name
Hospitality and retail food service Two hospitality units:
SITXFSA101 Use hygiene practices for food safety SITXFSA001 Use hygiene practices for food safety
SITXFSA201 Participate in safe food handling practices SITXFSA002 Participate in safe food handling practices
One retail unit:
SIRRFSA001A Apply retail food safety practices SIRRFSA001 Handle food safety in a retail environment

From 1 October 2017, ASQA will no longer recognise the old units and as such the Food Authority cannot accept the old units for FSS training after this date.

The legislation requires FSS training every 5 years.

Recognition of current competency

(Previously known as 'Recognition of prior learning' or RPL)

COVID-19 awareness for food service

The COVID-19 awareness for food service is a voluntary online training course which is free. The training covers key measures recommended for COVID-19 control in NSW food retail and food service businesses. It is not part of the FSS training requirement, and is not an accredited course.