Skip to main content

NSW Shellfish Committee

This NSW Shellfish Committee is an advisory statutory body established under the Food Regulation 2015.

It includes 5 representatives from the shellfish industry, the Manager Aquaculture from NSW DPI Fisheries, the CEO of the NSW Food Authority and the NSW Shellfish Program Manager.

The Committee provides advice to the Minister and the Food Authority on the operation and administration of the NSW Shellfish Program, including local level operation.

Functions

The committee liaises with local committees and industry members on NSW Shellfish Program related issues.

Where needed, it also provides representatives to other shellfish food safety committees.

Meetings

Meetings are held quarterly with agenda items called for one month before each meeting.

Key issues from committee meetings are reported in Foodwise and outcomes are provided in this section of the website following each meeting.

Meeting outcomes

2022

2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

Charter & Procedural Guidelines

The SC charter - February 2017 (pdf 98KB) can be found here.

Membership

Representation

Name/Address

Email

Chair

Independent Technical Expert
 

Associate Professor Shauna Murray
University of Technology Sydney

Shauna.Murray@uts.edu.au

NSW DPI Biosecurity & Food
Safety

Dr Lisa Szabo
Group Director Food Safety & CEO NSW Food Authority
NSW Food Authority
6 Avenue of the Americas
Newington NSW 2127

food.nswsp@dpi.nsw.gov.au
(Shellfish Program Group email)

NSW DPI Biosecurity & Food
Safety

Anthony Zammit
Shellfish Program Manager
NSW Food Authority
PO Box 232
Taree NSW 2430

anthony.zammit@dpi.nsw.gov.au

NSW DPI Fisheries

Ian Lyall
Manager Aquaculture
Locked Bag 1
Nelson Bay NSW 2315

ian.lyall@industry.nsw.gov.au

NSW DPI Biosecurity

Melissa Walker
Acting Manager Animal Biosecurity
Strategy & Standards
Locked Bay 1
Nelson Bay NSW 2315

melissa.walker@dpi.nsw.gov.au

NSW Farmers Association

Mr Andy Myers

myersa@nswfarmers.org.au

North Coast Oyster Farmer

Mr Brandon Armstrong

sales@armstrongoysters.com.au

South Coast Oyster Farmer

Mrs Pippa Boyton

pboyton@aoc.group

South Coast Oyster Farmer

Mr Shane Buckley

shane@wapengorocks.com.au

South Coast Mussel Farmer

Mr Sam Gordon

sgordon@blueharvest.com.au

Wild Harvest Representative

Vacant

 

Contact

For enquiries regarding the NSW Shellfish Committee, contact the relevant industry representative or the NSW Shellfish Program at: