Skip to main content

NSW Shellfish Committee

This NSW Shellfish Committee is an advisory statutory body established under the Food Regulation 2015.

It includes 5 representatives from the shellfish industry, the Manager Aquaculture from NSW DPI Fisheries, the CEO of the NSW Food Authority and the NSW Shellfish Program Manager.

The Committee provides advice to the Minister and the Food Authority on the operation and administration of the NSW Shellfish Program, including local level operation.


The committee liaises with local committees and industry members on NSW Shellfish Program related issues.

Where needed, it also provides representatives to other shellfish food safety committees.


Meetings are held quarterly with agenda items called for one month before each meeting.

Key issues from committee meetings are reported in Foodwise and outcomes are provided in this section of the website following each meeting.

Meeting outcomes










Charter & Procedural Guidelines

The SC charter - February 2017 (pdf 98KB) can be found here.


Representation Name/Address Email
Independent Technical Expert
Associate Professor Shauna Murray
University of Technology Sydney
NSW DPI Biosecurity & Food
Dr Lisa Szabo
Group Director Food Safety & CEO NSW Food Authority
NSW Food Authority
6 Avenue of the Americas
Newington NSW 2127
(Shellfish Program Group email)
NSW DPI Biosecurity & Food
Anthony Zammit
Shellfish Program Manager
NSW Food Authority
PO Box 232
Taree NSW 2430
NSW DPI Fisheries Ian Lyall
Manager Aquaculture
Locked Bag 1
Nelson Bay NSW 2315
NSW Farmers Association Mrs Caroline Henry knchenry@wonboynoysters
South Coast Oyster Farmer Mrs Sally Ritchie
Mid North Coast Oyster Farmer Mr Tony Troup
Mid North Coast Oyster Farmer Mr Steven Verdich
South Coast Oyster Farmer Mrs Caroline Henry
Wild Harvest Representative Mr Mario Puglisi
NSW DPI Biosecurity Melissa Walker
Acting Manager Animal Biosecurity
Strategy & Standards
Locked Bay 1
Nelson Bay NSW 2315


For enquiries regarding the NSW Shellfish Committee, contact the relevant industry representative or the NSW Shellfish Program at: